The Shuffle the Music Tag

I was nominated by Legendary randomness over at The culture club to do the shuffle music tag (thanks man!). Here’s the rules.

THE RULES
• Mention the creator of the tag and link to their blog (created by https://stuffonablogblog.wordpress.com/about/)
• Thank the person that nominated you for this tag and link to their blog as well.
• Shuffle your entire music library (no matter how old songs the songs are) and talk about the FIRST FIFTEEN songs that come up (anything like why they are there, if they signify something, any story, why you like them etc.)
• Mention the songs as well as the artists.
• Tag 7 people to do this tag and please let them know

Let’s get in to it then. I’m going to use my iTunes library that I share with my entire family, so we’ll potentially have a lot of Christian rock (my mom) and Warpaint (my dad) popping up (not that I’m complaining).

1.) Sixteen Saltines-Jack White

I love this roaring, crunchy jam of a track from Jack White’s debut solo album that screams with both Jack’s signature high-neck guitar playing and falsetto vocals. It’s gritty, rock’n’roll attitude that clocks in right around three minutes, and high school me used to eat it up when she was feeling “rebellious.”

2.) Eye of Fatima, Pt. 1-Camper Van Beethoven

A short tune from the 90s that has a stunning and impressive bassline, as well as a relaxed vibe that mimics the slow rolling of a car over country hills on a road trip. I think that’s what’s always appealed to me about this song; the way it just kind of carries along without trying too hard to make a big point or message about life.

3.) Learnt My Lesson Well-Kaiser Chiefs

For a period of time in high school I went through this weird phase where I wanted to listen to “Kaiser Chiefs Radio” on Pandora all the time and this song is the remnant of that. It mostly just reminds me of gym class when I used to sneak my iPod into class when we were supposed to be running our laps and my teacher would get mad at me.

4.) Friday I’m in Love-The Cure

Another remnant of my Pandora days, this one from “80s Alternative Rock Radio.” After hearing it I quickly developed a love of Robert Smith’s knack for cute and quirky college rock love songs that continues to this day.

5.) Our God-Chris Tomlin

A beautiful and timeless worship hymn to the One responsible for the life that I am blessed to live. In my opinion, Chris Tomlin has one of the most beautiful voices in worship music.

6.) Call It What You Want-Foster the People

I used to listen to Foster the People’s debut album all the time in high school because the half-organic-half-synthetic instrumentation was just so interesting to me. I used to work out to it a lot too because of how bouncy and upbeat each track was.

7.) Shakermaker-Oasis

What an instant classic. I love this fuzzy Britpop romp from Oasis’s debut album. The nonsensical lyrics and the catchiness of Noel Gallagher’s playing, as well as Liam’s signature sneering vocals, just work so well.

8.) Song for Someone-U2

I actually enjoy the album U2 dropped for free into everyone’s iTunes library (surprise surprise), but this track is easily one of my favorites. The lyrics in the chorus are so beautiful and heartfelt, Bono’s voice easily sounds better here than it did on any of the tracks on “No Line on the Horizon” and The Edge plays with his signature chiming riffs that assure you with one listen that everything will be ok.

9.) The Way to Gone-Black Mountain

I remember the first time I ever found this snarky, staggering acoustic track, and it quickly became on of my most-played songs. Something about the entire attitude of the track, which builds to a massive outro of vocal harmonies, is just impossible to resist.

10.) Just Like Heaven-The Cure

Another song from my early days of discovering The Cure. Of course I fell hard for the lyrics, and of course I listened to it every day for about a year of my life.

11.) Out of My League-Fitz & The Tantrums

This band writes some of the most instantly catchy songs in alt-rock today, and this track is no exception. It’s such an easy listen, but it instantly gets buried in the back of your head for hours with its easy to sing along with chorus and simplistic instrumentals.

12.) Salome-U2

This b-side from U2’s “Achtung Baby” sessions features some of Adam Clayton’s best playing from this period of the group’s work, and I kind of wish the band could’ve remixed it to fit in the album’s track listing. Then again, it does have a kind of awkward flow and goes on for too long. The chorus is just irresistible, though.

13.) The Crane Wife 3-The Decemberists

A sad little acoustic gem of a track that features some heartwrenching and powerful vocals and lyrics from Colin Meloy, and a progression to a roaring wail of instrumentation that starts with a few mere chords. “And I will hang my head, hang my head low.”

14.) Sprawl II (Mountains Beyond Mountains)-Arcade Fire

One of my FAVOURITE songs of all time, and also the song responsible for my love of Regine Chassagne that developed around the time I was 14 years old. It also totally spoke to my whole phase of wanting to be an “individual” that I was going through.

15.) Some Might Say-Oasis

What a great track to close with. An enduring tune from my second favourite band that still has the same genuine and soaring feeling to it that it did way back when my dad used to play it around the house when I was a kiddo.

I nominate:

  1. Music Loving Liv
  2. findingfairyland
  3. steveforthedeaf
  4. Virginia (Roses in the Rubble)
  5. Aphoristical (Aphoristic Album Reviews)
  6. William (AThousandMistakes)
  7. Vinnieh

If you want to play along, make your own post and tag followers, or comment below what you think of these songs/songs that mean a lot to you!

As always, thanks for reading, and God bless you.

-Turntable Talk

3 thoughts on “The Shuffle the Music Tag

  1. Pingback: Playlist: The Shuffle The Music Tag – a1000mistakes

Leave a Reply

