Happy Birthday, Ringo Starr!

Ringo1.jpgThe goofy Beatle as he¬†appeared in the American Saturday morning kid’s cartoon from the 60’s, “The Beatles.”

Happiest of birthdays to Richard Starkey, my favourite Beatle since I was 13. I’ve tried for years to pin down why Ringo appealed so much to me back then, but the older I get, the more I think I just enjoyed how down-to-Earth he always seemed in Beatles interviews and movies I saw.

Ringo4The animated “Yellow Submarine” movie completely floored me as a youth. Bluuuue meanies.

As a kid, I found him endearing and he seemed like the most relatable next to John Lennon and his constant antics, Paul McCartney and his status as the casanova of the group and George Harrison’s spiritual explorations.

Ringo5The shortest, and to me, the sweetest.

I also enjoyed the hits from Ringo’s solo work as well. A personal favourite was “It Don’t Come Easy” and his cover of “The No-No Song.”

Ringo2The drumsticks of the man himself.

Peace and love to you, Ringo Starr. Thank you for being such a lovely part of my childhood, and still bringing a smile to my face today.

Ringo3A man of many talents, and a man of the affections of 13-year-old me.

Thanks for reading, God bless, and peace and love to you all. And help spread some “peace and love” to those around you if you want to celebrate Ringo’s birthday-at noon, tell those you love to spend the day walking in “Peace and Love.”

-A.L.D.

All photos taken by A.L. Davies at the Beatles Experience in Liverpool, England (except for first photo, which was taken at the Hard Days Night Hotel).

Leave a Reply

