The Top Ten Honorable Mentions of Lollapalooza 2k17 (According to Turntable Talk)

As promised on my Top Eleven that I posted earlier this week, here are my Top Ten Honorable Mentions of the Lollapalooza 2k17 lineup.

10.) Atlas Genius

If I had a dime for all the times that I listened to singles like “If So” and “Trojans” much too loudly in the school parking lot during my sophomore year of high school, I wouldn’t need to be working this summer. I wasn’t super crazy about “Molecules,” but the strength of the aforementioned two is enough to intrigue me about this band.

9.) Mondo Cozmo

Another band that I’m intrigued on with the success of just one single. I love their song “Shine” so much that I’m willing to go on a limb for the live show. Every time I hear that explosive chorus of “Let ’em get high/Let ’em get stoned/Every thing will be alright/If you let it go,” I just have to laugh.

8.) Sylvan Esso

I never liked this duo’s breakout hit “Hey Mami,” but the success of “Radio” on the indie rock stations (which isn’t Lorde’s “Royals” but makes a blisteringly funny jab at the music industry that I like even more) has had me exploring their catalogue beyond just a superficial glance. And I like what I see.

7.) The Shins

Usually too mellow for my everyday listening, but I of course appreciate the success of “New Slang” and honestly, I kind of dig the new album. “Name for You” is a surprisingly upbeat and fun song and reminds me of how much I enjoyed “Simple Song” the first time I heard it.

6.) Capital Cities

Sometimes you come across an album that’s just pure indie-tronic dancey fun, and that’s exactly what this group’s 2013 debut “In a Tidal Wave of Mystery” was. And last year’s Bob Moses show convinced me you should always pursue the dancey fun in the Lolla lineup.

5.) Chance the Rapper

I unfortunately don’t know much about Chance beyond the Coloring Book mixtape, but what a mixtape it is. There’s some fantastic beats on there, I love how gospel is intertwined and Chance is just as talented a singer as a rapper. Plus, he’s Chicago born, so I feel like a Lolla show would be a great introduction to his work.

4.) Whitney

I feel like the dudes behind Whitney are just such sweethearts. They make music that is so pleasant to listen to and write songs of love and heartbreak so well. I just want to hug them all over again every time “Wherever We Go” comes on.

3.) Middle Kids

And yet another band I want to explore based off the one song I’ve heard. The front woman’s vocals on “Edge of Town” display such an impressive range that both the singer in me and the music fan in me is floored.

2.) Liam Gallagher

I know both Gallagher brothers don’t want their Oasis days dragged back out every time they release something new with their side projects, but Oasis played such a fundamental roll in my childhood that the chance to see a Gallagher live is something I can’t consider passing up.

1.) Lorde

Pop music’s dark horse captured my heart with 2013’s “Pure Heroine” with its spacy production and vibe and sparse instrumentation. Lorde’s gravelly low voice and erratic stage performance makes this a show I’d love to see if given the chance.

Where do these artists rank on your list of Lollapalooza must-sees?

Thanks for reading, and God bless.

-A.L.D.

Leave a Reply

