Turntable Talk’s Top Eleven Must-See Bands at Lollapalooza 2k17

It’s that time of the year again! Time to create my list of the bands I am the most excited to see at this year’s Lollapalooza in Chicago.

Before I get into this post, I’d like to mention that there are so many bands I’m intrigued to see at Lollapalooza that there’s too many Honorable Mentions to feature in this post. I’ll be making a separate post for those that will come out sometime this week, so be on the lookout. (And the abundance of great musical acts also explains why this is a top eleven, as opposed to a top ten like last year).

Now. Let’s get right into it, shall we?

11.) Alt-J

While I’m not thrilled with Alt-J’s new “Relaxer” and the last Lolla show I saw of them in 2015 was subpar, I’m all for second chances and “An Awesome Wave” is one of my favourite albums to study to. And even though I don’t love the new album as a whole, I still enjoy the singles like “In Cold Blood” and “3WW.”

10.) Glass Animals

The amount of punch and liveliness this group was able to cram into 2016’s “How to be a Human Being” has had me wondering how much fun their live show would be since last summer. I just hope they are able to translate how smooth and suave their production makes them sound on a record to the Lollapalooza stage.

9.) Mac Demarco

Mac’s relaxed and playfully sarcastic attitude are sure to be a great on-stage contrast with the new dark themes of abandonment and adulthood he’s exploring on new album “This Old Dog.” I’m looking forward to seeing how the moodiness of his newer tracks translates to a live show that I hope also includes hits like “Salad Days,” “My Kind of Woman,” “Passing Out Pieces” and “Ode to Viceroy.”

8.) Spoon

I’ll be the first to admit I always casually enjoyed Spoon and appreciated how consistent their discography was, but didn’t understand their massive fanbase in the indie world. That is, until I saw them live in May. The group creates a live show full of swagger and professionalism all while seeming grateful to every fan. Also, the new album is a step towards a more experimental sound that I quite enjoyed.

7.) Temples

I remember digging the singles these guys dropped throughout 2013 like “Keep in the Dark” and “Shelter Song,” and then hearing a few months later that musicians Noel Gallagher and Johnny Marr had praised the band’s sound. So essentially, I like to think I discovered the band before Noel Gallagher and Johnny Marr, two of my favourite musicians (ever).

6.) The Killers

Like most people between the ages of 18 and 25, I love singing along to “Mr. Brightside,” so can you blame me for not wanting to pass along the chance to sing along IN REAL LIFE?? In all seriousness, The Killers may’ve not wowed me with their last release, but I’m still pretty stoked to potentially hear songs like “Read My Mind” and “All These Things That I’ve Done” that played such formative roles in developing my early high school soundtrack.

5.) Cage the Elephant 

Once upon a time when I was looking for a more “edgy” (read: Pixies-inspired) sound in my alt rock, I used to absolutely love songs from Cage the Elephant like “Aberdeen,” “Back Against the Wall,” “Around my Head” and “Right Before my Eyes.” While I’m not as wild about the more bluesy and mellow sound they’ve been following lately, slower songs like “Cigarette Daydreams,” “Telescope” and “Trouble” are still lovely tunes that keep me coming back.

4.) Alvvays

I actually really loved the sweetness of musicianship and cute lyrics of this Canadian indie-pop group’s 2014 self-titled debut. Most songs keep the same chiming and skipping vibe to them, but I’m the kind of person who thinks there’s nothing wrong with enjoying some happy songs about love every now and again.

3.) Car Seat Headrest

My boys. Finally time to see the fine young twentysomethings who make existentialism sound so, so fun. I’ve gone on and on about my love of this group, so if you want a more in-depth look at my thoughts on them, check out this post.

2.) Muse

I used to think Muse was little more than just another glorified mainstream alt-rock band, until I saw their live show in 2013. The amount of craft and skill that goes into not just their music but their light show and performance is incredible. And their music really is so impressive. Every album sounds absolutely massive with roaring guitars, throbbing drum beats, synth and choral features and crisp, clean production.

1.) Arcade Fire

I’ve been eagerly awaiting seeing the merry band of weirdos that completely blew my mind as a 13-year-old ever since I watched a replay of Arcade Fire performing on 2010’s “The Suburbs” tour on Paladia back in the day. I’ve already seen them once before, but I’m hoping an outdoor festival performance will be completely wild. Especially with the release of their new record, “Everything Now,” right around the corner.

Are you going to this year’s Lollapalooza? Who are you most excited to see? Have you seen any of these bands live before at a concert or a festival?

Thanks for reading, and God bless.

-A.L.D.

 

 

 

One thought on “Turntable Talk’s Top Eleven Must-See Bands at Lollapalooza 2k17

  1. Pingback: The Top Ten Honorable Mentions of Lollapalooza 2k17 (According to Turntable Talk) | Turntable talk

Leave a Reply

