Music Gifts and a Concert Update

Hello, happiest of holidays and a very happy New Year, my friends. I hope everyone has had a blessed season in whatever way it may be you celebrate and you’re adjusting well into the new spin of 2017.

I received a few music-centered Christmas gifts this year that I wanted to feature on this blog. The first (and my personal favourite) is a poster of the map of alternative rock history, arranged in the style of a transistor radio blueprint.

(I wasn’t able to get a good picture of mine because it’s framed and kept reflecting me and my camera, so here’s the online link from Wired).

The print will make a lovely addition to the house where I currently live at school. I love maps for decoration, and a blueprint documenting the influences of bands on another is even better. One of the things I’m most interested about in music history is the progression of different music movements (specifically the 80’s college rock and 90’s Britpop/alternative/indie trends), so I’ve already enjoyed quite a bit of time studying which bands branch from others.

I also received from my lovely aunt and uncle a 2017 Beatles calendar. This is the 7th year they’ve given me one, as the tradition started during my 8th grade obsession with the music of John, Paul, George and Ringo (that, I might add, still continues to this day).

img_3699

The lines of the weeks look like sheet music, which I find exceptionally adorable.

Additionally, my mom got me a piece of wall art for my house at school as well. It’s in the shape of a guitar pick, and the design looks like a shelf of vinyl records. I especially enjoy it because around the center is a copy of The Beatles’ “Magical Mystery Tour,” the first record by them that I ever owned.

img_3700

Finally, I have a concert update: I’ve gotten tickets to a Lucy Dacus and Hamilton Leithauser show in February. As I’ve previously blogged, Lucy Dacus is Matador Records’ latest resident singer/songwriter and I am totally into her work. Her record “No Burden” definitely made my year-end list of the best releases, and since I missed my chance to see her at Lollapalooza, I eagerly await seeing her open for Hamilton Leithauser.

As far as Leithauser, I quite enjoy the singles he’s dropped with Rostem from Vampire Weekend (“A 1000 Times,” which I’ve mentioned on here before, and “In A Blackout”) which surprises me since I’m not much of a Vampire Weekend fan.

This show shall show if I end up enjoying the rest of their work, and since it’ll be in a more intimate concert venue, I look forward to the chance to fully appreciate both Rostem and Leithauser’s ability.

I also eagerly await blogging about the concert and how it goes. Hopefully, I’ll be able to get as close as possible to the stage.

What were some of your favourite musical Christmas/holiday gifts you received this year?

As always, thanks so much for reading, and I hope you have a very happy and blessed New Year. God bless.

-A.L.D.

Leave a Reply

