Track Review: The Orwells’ “They Put A Body In The Bayou”

Greetings, my friends. It’s been an embarrassingly long time since an update, but I must ask for a pardon since I am a student and finals combined with work, club leadership and house chores are proving to be a trying time.

Thankfully, about a month ago, The Orwells released a new single, “They Put A Body In The Bayou” from their upcoming LP “Terrible Human Beings.” And it does not disappoint.

I’ve been following this band since I heard their song “Mallrats (La la la)” on XMU’s Download 15 in high school. At the time, I remember being amazed at how people who were around my age (the frontman was 18 at the time) managed to create garage rock and get played on a major indie network.

This continues to impress me with The Orwells: their ability as young musicians to craft songs that have a sneering, devil-may-care kind of teenage swagger that mask simply written, rhyming lyrics with heavy subject matter.

Their last record, “Disgraceland,” did just that for me. I remember it starting off with the playful ode to being young “Southern Comfort” and being floored once the back half of the album came around and songs about reckless motorcycle crashes (“Always’N’Forever”) and themes of death (“Blood Bubbles”) took over the track listing. It’s a sad record with just enough punchy punk songs to keep you coming back.

This new single lives up to my expectations, seeing The Orwells continue in this shameless teenager delivery. The opening to the track reminds me of something Oasis would’ve released in their early years, which I really hope is a musical theme they stick with in the upcoming record.

There’s the signature half singing, half snarking tone of frontman Mario Cuomo and darker-than-you’d-expect lyrics dealing with substance abuse, corruption of morals and alcoholism. That’s what sticks out to me the most-how fun this song is, and how serious it’s lyrical matter is once you stop to think about it.

The thing that bothers me is the length and structure-it’s about 3 minutes, and it follows a very basic verse/chorus/verse/chorus form. While that’s part of what makes The Orwells’ music so fun and accessible-it’s short, it makes you think but you can still sing along in the car, it keeps your attention-it can get old after a while. I’m hoping they experiment with different song styles and structures on this new record, but all in all, it’s a solid release following the success that 2014’s singles “Who Needs You” and “The Righteous One” found.

I eagerly await the release of “Terrible Human Beings” in February. Check out the song here.

As always, thanks much for reading, and God bless. I’ll be on break very soon, and blogging will pick up again then. Have a lovely and blessed weekend.

-A.L.D.

Leave a Reply

