A Forgotten Song

As I type I’m listening to an LCD Soundsystem song I used to listen to all the time as a freshman in high school, “All I Want.” For some reason (I’ll chalk it up to switching phones a few times and losing a lot of music in my library in the process) it slipped out of my playlist and I haven’t heard it since early spring/late winter of 2012.

I realize this may not seem like a long time, but so much has changed for me since February of 2012. I’ve been thinking a lot lately about how my life is rapidly changing as I continue my education, and since music has always played a large part in my life, hearing certain songs has a lot to do with it.

I’m no longer a high school student with vague aspirations of what I want to do with my life, I’m a college student studying and working towards a real career one day. I am so thankful for what I’ve been able to do and learn since then. I’ve traveled and studied in different parts of the world, I go to a school I’d never considered when I was 14 (college was just this sort of fantasy for me back then), I study my love (writing) because it’s what I want to do for the rest of my life. And I certainly never would’ve pictured myself seeing LCD Soundsystem as the headliner at Lollapalooza back then (but I have!).

Times have changed since I last sang along to the final refrain of “Take me home” in the song, but the great thing about music is that songs both stay encapsulated in time and grow along with us. I have so many more things that I’ve accomplished and that I have to look forward to than I did those years ago, but hearing “All I Want” took me back to when life was a little simpler for a while. It’s like a time capsule of experiences I’m very thankful for and I’ll continue to learn from, while still being a song I can enjoy and sing along to today.

What are some songs that do this for you? Do you still listen to them frequently today? What are your forgotten nostalgic songs? And be sure to listen to “All I Want” here.

As always, thank you so much for reading. I’m currently back in my hometown on break for a few days from school, so I’ll try to fit in at least one more post before I have to go back Sunday night.

Have a great day, a wonderful weekend and God bless.

-A.L.D.

Leave a Reply

