19 for 19 Playlist

Yesterday, I turned 19 years old.

While driving around town, “The Suburbs” by Arcade Fire came on and it got me thinking of the emotional significance that song, and the entire record, has held for me over the years.

I started to think…what are some other songs that hold significant places in my life? Which bands correlate to certain points in time, and how is it that they still remain some of my favourites to this day?

Well, I may not have an answer for that. But, I can try to compile a list of 19 songs that have shaped my 19 years thus far.

Keep in mind, the “playlist of my life” is far from complete and I doubt it ever will be. I’m sure there are some fantastic songs I’ve loved at some far-off point in time that I’m accidentally excluding from this particular list (if this was a “20 for 20” playlist, “Under the Pressure” by the War on Drugs would surely fill the extra spot. But I have plans for that song on a playlist in the future). This is just my attempt to give a sort of order to some of the most memorable tunes.

And so, without further ado…

The 19 for 19 Playlist:

  1. Zooropa-U2
  2. Velouria-Pixies
  3. The Crane Wife 3-The Decemberists
  4. Ways to Go-Grouplove
  5. The Heinrich Maneuver-Interpol
  6. Class Clown Spots a UFO-Guided by Voices
  7. Austere-The Joy Formidable
  8. Right Before my Eyes-Cage the Elephant
  9. No New Tale to Tell-Love and Rockets
  10. Mistaken for Strangers-The National
  11. Just Another Day-Oingo Boingo
  12. The Perfect Kiss-New Order (Note-Specifically the eight minute version on the “Substance” compilation)
  13. Bigmouth Strikes Again-The Smiths
  14. Hey Bulldog-The Beatles
  15. Icky Thump-White Stripes
  16. Morning Glory-Oasis
  17. Can’t Hardly Wait-The Replacements¬†(Note-Specifically the demo version because that’s the one I listen to the most, though I also quite enjoy the version found on “Pleased to Meet Me”)
  18. Madness-Muse
  19. My Body is a Cage-Arcade Fire

 

God bless.

-A.L.D.

5 thoughts on “19 for 19 Playlist

Leave a Reply

